Jennifer Thomas is a bestselling author, psychologist, speaker, consultant & apology critic

Chris Brown’s Semi-Apology for Outburst at GMA: 1 out of 5 Stars


Did Chris Brown Apologize? Getty Images

Chris Brown appeared on Good Morning America this week to promote his new album, which has rocketed to the top of the charts.  Apparently, he was angered by questions about his assault case with former girlfriend Rihanna.  He became destructive and broke a window in his dressing room following his appearance on the television show.  He did not apologize for his tantrum that day or the next day.  A full two days later,  the controversial R&B star delivered this semi-apology on BET’s ‘106 & Park‘:

”First of all, I want to apologize to anybody who was startled in the office, or anybody who was offended or really looked and [was] disappointed at my actions. Because I’m disappointed in the way I acted … Yes, I got very emotional. And I apologize for acting like that.”


”A lot of people don’t know what went down, and obviously when I do shows or when I do interviews, we always send out a talking point sheet … As the interview proceeded, it was kinda thrown off. I was thrown off by it. I felt like they told us this just so they could get us on the show so they can exploit me, that’s what I thought. So, I took it very, very hard.”

he noted that he didn’t harm anyone physically — and didn’t try to either.


“I kind of kept my composure throughout the whole interview. Although you could see me upset, I kept my composure, did my performance,” Brown said. “When I got back I just let out steam in the back.I just wanted to release the anger that I had inside me because I felt that I worked so hard for this music and I felt like people kept just trying to take it away from me.

 

My Analysis: Brown started off on the right foot by apologizing for his actions.  He should have stopped there.  The remainder of him comments reflect excuses, blaming, defensiveness and bad psychology.  As a therapist, I would challenge a client who might defend violence as “needing to blow off steam.”  Anger management involves learning to calm down rather than escalating.  I hope that this man will get more help before he destroys other people and places.

The video clip of Brown’s semi-apology is available here.
Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS